Cooking- the old recipes are always the best

My family on my mother’s side is old German. Or olde German (olde means really, really old), or Prussian, or Austrian, or something like that. As I was going through some old(e) family boxes I came across an a very old(e!) cookbook. Now sometimes these kind of recipes call for bizarre things like oxen bladder or something made from sheep intestines. This cake seemed to be a family favorite and I was stunned to find it dated back to the 1400’s. It seems back then it was customary to make things in epic proportions so as to be able to have leftovers for days. While I wonder about the authenticity of the recipe (I’ve had some jokers in the woodpile), I felt it was worth sharing with the world. The following cake recipe may need adjusted to fit your own family’s consumption needs.

Great, great, great, great, great grandmother’s (twice-removed) cake of champions:

10 cups sifted cake flour

14 teaspoons baking powder

4 teaspoons salt

12 egg whites

6 cups white sugar

2 3/4 cups butter

4 cups milk

4 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 teaspoon almond extract

2 eight year old children

Directions

  1. Fatten children in cages with candy and confections until plump- roast in wood fired oven until done, let cool
  2. Measure sifted cake flour, baking powder, and salt; sift together three times.
  3. In a mixing bowl, beat egg whites until foamy. Add 5 cups sugar gradually, and continue beating only until meringue will hold up in soft peaks.
  4. Beat butter until smooth. Gradually add remaining 1 cup sugar, and cream together until light and fluffy. Add sifted ingredients alternately with milk a small amount at a time, beating after each addition until smooth. Mix in flavorings. Add meringue, and mix thoroughly into batter. Spread batter over roasted children in a pan which has been lined on the bottom with parchment paper.
  5. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 30 to 35 minutes. Cool cake in pan 10 minutes, then remove from pan and transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling.

As stated I haven’t tried this recipe myself so if you do please leave comments below rating it. If it’s been in the family this long, I assume it must be pretty good, although it sounds a little fattening. I just can’t believe I’ve never heard of it before.

2 thoughts on “Cooking- the old recipes are always the best

Tell me how you really feel (because I care about you and want you to be happy)

